Enhancing Our Children’s Education

Help us support academic opportunities and excellence!

The Ed. Foundation: Opportunity Delivered.

The History of The Ed. Foundation

In 2002, community advocate Amy Bass assembled a group of volunteers to form an education foundation with the goal of making a difference in the experience of students in Port Washington. The following spring, the PWEF awarded its first grants, totaling $20,329, to fund 18 projects ranging from an oral history study at Schreiber to math literacy workshops at the elementary schools. Since then, hundreds of grants have been awarded in every school, at every grade level, in every subject area, totaling well over 1.5 million dollars.

A marketing effort in the spring of 2015 rebranded the PWEF as The Ed. Foundation with a new name, new logo, and a new look. While the Foundation has grown tremendously, the mission remains the same: supporting initiatives beyond basic educational needs and enhancing educational opportunities for all students in the Port Washington public school district.

Board of Directors

  • Mara Silverstein


  • Sue Hershkowitz

    Executive Vice President

  • Suresh Sani

    Vice President Development

  • Becky Schamis

    Vice President Marketing & Communications

  • Ellen Fox

    Vice President Support Center

  • Paula Whitman

    Vice President Strategic Planning

  • Michelle Duran

    Vice President Grants

  • Robert Kleinman


  • Nikos Andreadis

    Assistant Treasurer

  • Renee Laffer

    Recording Secretary

  • Katharine Ullman

    Corresponding Secretary

  • Amy G. Bass

    President Emerita

Diana Berrent
Lauren Edwards
Ilana Engel
Beth Eule
Larry Feinblum

Stephanie Greenberg
Lorraine Gropper
Julie Kozinn
Mat Lanfant
Ryan Lefton

Jaimee Loewy
Robin McDermott
Ann Mergler
Kim Nauer
Sara Raber

Elaine Sands
Karen Sloan
Meredith Steigman
Tracy Widolok

Advisory Board

Owen Costello
Mariann Dalimonte
Ilana Engel
Doreen Gamell
Dardana Geller

Lisa Grossman
Bridgette Hirsch
William Keller
Kelley Keyes
Amanda Khalil

Marcia Levine
Amy Levinson
Matt Melkonian
Laura Mogul
Cindy Moroney

Roy Nelson, MD
Jean-Marie Posner
Ted Rosenthal
Claudia Rouhana
Michelle Schimel

Rob Seiden
Cathy Seldin
Karen Seltzer
Robin Sigman
Valerie Taylor

Junior Board


Junior Board 2019–2020

  • Emily Edwards & Ben Johnson


  • Lindsey Feinstein & Noah Loewy

    Executive Vice Presidents

  • Ali Carvajal, Leah Doubert, Hayley Korn

    Vice Presidents, Development

  • Daniel Kates, Jordan Monaco, Kate Steigman

    Vice Presidents, Grants

  • Sylvia Ades, Jacob Schorr, Rachel Silverstein

    Vice Presidents, Marketing & Publicity

  • Sam Korn, Trey McDermott, Maansi Shroff

    Vice Presidents, Strategic Planning

  • Alexandra Grundfast & Kevin Taylor

    Vice Presidents, Recruitment 

  • Lily Labella & Sara Mody

    Recording Secretaries

Jamie Ambos
Caroline Brandvold
Brooke Garmisa
Max Garmisa

Clay Gropper
Daniel Haas
Remi Haas
Sarah Hersh

Kyra Hershkowitz
Griffin Jackson
Derek Lam
Max Mallah

Julia Mody
Matthew Pierre-Louis
Rebecca Sanders
Zachary Siegel